I’ve got a huntch on a hutch

Today my mind has been bombarded by design ideas and inspirations.  As you can tell, from my lack of recent postings, my recent thoughts have been otherwise occupied. But I’m back in the game now!  So, in the edition of Spruce News, I am giving you a preview of the project from even before it takes off.  A raw and unaltered reclaimed project.  Feast your eyes on…a china hutch:

China Hutch - Before

Bought this piece for about $80 on Craigslist, but it is missing the front glass section.  It came pre-lit with glass shelves and a mirrored back.  The middle door on bottom is the only one that opens, and inside there is a felt-lined silverware drawer and one shelf from end to end. 

Likes: Simple and straight vertical lines, dentil detail across top of upper doors, crowned molding with centerpiece.

Dislikes: Color!

I believe the direction will be toward gray in color, and perhaps with a distressed finish.  I have found some inspirational images, but I am still not sure how distressed to take it or how dark of a finish to try.  Let me know what you think.

 

Shades of Gray - Inspiration

2 comments

  1. I like the top and bottom pieces on the far left side of the examples. Very pretty – gray is grayt! LOL I love it – my walls at home are done in a Southern Shadow. White with a grayish tint. I have a gray writing desk from West Elm.

    Good stuff – Good luck! Can’t wait to see what you do with it 🙂

Leave a Reply

