The Master Color Scheme

In creating room designs and color schemes I typically start with a centerpiece.  If you can find a fabric or piece of furniture or paint color that you really adore, that is all you need for a jumping off point.  For the master bedroom, my starter piece was a bedding set from Costco.com that I hemmed and hawed about for a couple of months before finally pulling the trigger to order.  The saving grace was that they sent me a free fabric sample, upon  request, so I could actually hold the fabric and see the true colors.  **I have nothing against shopping on the internet, as long as you know that objects on your screen are not always the color they appear**

Yorkshire Bedding

Comparing the real thing to the internet quality photo, I would say that it is closer to a shade of blue (rather than green). Normally, my philosophy is to have one pattern fabric and pull solid tones as accent colors.  But…..I really love my new sale fabrics, so I am going to step outside of my comfort box and use two prints.  Yikes!

Bedding Fabric

Wall Color

Accent Fabric

Accent Furniture

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Accent Furniture: Sherwin Williams – Riverway SW6222  & Wall Color: Behr – Warm Muffin 330D-4

I have a special project in mind for the accent fabric, just waiting on the perfect piece to practice my upholstery skills.  Which are none. But I’ll post my attempts so we can all learn from my potential mistakes. And speaking of…

~A Short Story~

I will share with you something that I had to learn the hard way, and hopefully help others avoid the same mistake.  The Behr paint chip I had picked up and was carrying around in my pocket, are only sold at Home Depot.  One day I happened to be buying supplies and plants at Lowe’s, so I asked them to color match my paint sample chip.  The gentleman behind the paint counter did warn me that different manufacturers use different base colors, so the match would not be exact.  “I’ll take my chances”, I said.  Big Mistake.  The color was completely different once we got it up on the walls.  I learned my lesson, and it wasn’t a complete failure because it actually worked great as a primer in covering up the hideous forest green walls the house came with.  Then I went to HD to get the real Behr paint.

~The End~

My collection of furniture is still on-going, but so far I have an armoire, dresser, vanity and ‘project’ piece.  All of which are stacked around the garage waiting to be sanded, stained, painted and generally ‘loved-up’.  And so my design process continues, as I pick up pieces here and there, to create my world.

One comment

  1. First off, you need to teach me how to stack little photos side by side like that on here!

    Second, yes I too found out the hard way about trying to match colors from HD and Lowes. Disaster in the bathroom when I tried to have red walls. I ran out and went to HD to color match and I had a different color red in the bath area compared to the vanity area. Thank goodness I changed the color to purple!

Leave a Reply

