Can You Ever Have Too Much Style?

I have learned that everyone has a their own opinion about style.  Which usually means  everyone has an opinion about YOUR style. too.  We are all guilty of this, so don’t feel like the cheese standing alone out there.  When you visit someone’s house, you are secretly taking inventory of some of the great pieces of decor they have.  And silently (remember to be polite) noting things that you would never in a million years want in your home.  I use to be of the notion that I had narrowed down my own style, and now I find myself shocked when something completely out of the ordinary strikes my fancy.  At first, I ignored ideas and pieces that I didn’t think ‘belonged’ in my style zone.  But then I allowed myself to let my style be ever-changing and growing.  Art Deco has always been one of my favorite periods of design, but I am falling in love with French inspired pieces, and love the charming Cottage style.  What’s a girl to do but…have it all!

I was pointed in the direction of a Style Test by Struggling to be Stylish (aren’t we all?) from Ethan Allan. The results of my choices reveal that my style is “Estate”

The verdict is in—your style is Estate. Estate is an eternal American summer. Sporty. Charming. Breezy yet cultivated. A union of antique inspiration and geometric clarity. Civilization in peaceful coexistence with robust outdoor life. In the main house or the guest cottage, effortless elegance.

BINGO! And just to test the accuracy of the results (and see if there were any other neat pictures), I took the test 3 more times.  Same outcome with each run.  It really does accurately depict my style…and in very few words.  I don’t know that I would have been able to describe my tastes to succinctly.

Ethan Allen - Beachwood Room

~love the wall stripes and the chair~

Ethan Allen - Southport Room

~beautiful wall treatment and cabriole legs~

The site gurus also noted that I might like their “Villa” style (of course I do) and took me to even more great ideas.

Romance reinvented. A high-end “decorator” look. Refined without fuss. Serene yet strong. Pedigreed while also modern. Inspired by French and Scandinavian design. A mingling of carved woods. handcrafted artisanship, and the dressmaker detail.

Ethan Allen - Verdigris Room

~elegantly, calming upholstery and natural accessories~

Did your quiz results produce any truths about your style?  Aren’t quizzes fun!

One comment

  1. VILLA – The verdict is in—your style is Villa. Villa is romance reinvented. A high-end “decorator” look. Refined without fuss. Serene yet strong. Pedigreed while also modern. Inspired by French and Scandinavian design. A mingling of carved woods. handcrafted artisanship, and the dressmaker detail.

    This online portfolio shows your style. Brought to life in rooms. A subtle mix of furniture, accessories, and attitude. Different “looks.” Because every home should be unique. Come see.

    Very cool! I love it!

Leave a Reply

