Table Topsy Turvy Bench

After finding this great table-to-bench project on Vintage Junky I have been searching high and low for a ‘project’ table. I knew that I didn’t want to spend too much money, because sometimes your first attempt isn’t always perfect.  My first requirement was that it have curved or cabriole legs.  Our recently acquired TV armoire has such a feature, and I felt that color and leg detail could be the unifying factors in our furniture scheme.  Many hours of scrolling CL I finally found a little piece and negotiated down to $20, so it fit the bill.

Craigslist Posting - Coffee Table

The piece doesn’t have a perfectly square top, but I liked that the edges might be curved around the upholstery…but only time will tell if it actually works.  The fabric is a large-scale floral that coordinates with the paisley bedding currently in the master bedroom. All the furniture will be painted Riverway (SW) and distressed, or antiqued with Minwax Dark Walnut #2716.  (I just bought the tiny, baby can from Lowe’s for about $5, and it goes a loooong way)

Before & After - Full Table

I will admit the price on the paint really scared me, because I have never paid so much for a gallon ($37).  All the bloggers say SW isthe best, and it has provided really great coverage with just two coats.  I did breathe a sigh of relief, when I saw that after painting this table and a dresser, I had barely depleted the paint from the can by more than an inch.  A little of the good stuff goes a long way. I didn’t bother to paint the top of the table, because it will be covered by the upholstery, but I have to say that the original wood color actually looks good with the blue.

Before & After - Detail of Leg

This was my first attempt at painting furniture, and especially the process of adding stain, wiping off and giving it more character.  I did learn that you shouldn’t attempt to paint on, then wipe off, stain when it is 100 degrees out…makes it very difficult to wipe off the excess stain.  Next, I need to wait for a sale on foam, before the transformation can be complete.  No use paying full price when they make coupons! Depending on how the upholstery looks, I may also venture into tufting the top with fabric covered buttons.  Oh, how I love tufting…..but we can discuss that later.

5 comments

  1. The bench looks really good as is! (The color with the wood top) Can’t wait to see what happens next…good luck with those buttons! 😉

  2. Jon and I are very impressed! Tell me, did you sand the whole thing before painting? I need to learn this distress look with stain 🙂 Looks fab my friend. You are an inspiration!

    1. Melanie, I did absolutely no prep work. This may come back to haunt me in the end if the paint chips off! I have been letting it ‘cure’ for 2 weeks, and may use a protective spray coat on top for added durability.

Leave a Reply

