Lonely Lamps No More

I have been desperately searching for the perfect lampshades for my office, and feel like it has been years of exhausting searches!  The main reason I haven’t been able to find something, is probably due to the fact that I have such a hard time dropping more than $20 for a shade. Seems pretty ridiculous right? Now you know the real depth of my frugality.  I have identical cream, wood bases on each end of my ‘spruced’ buffet just waiting to be topped off.

 

Sad and Lonely Lamps

I started shopping on-line and was able to find some great patterns and shapes, but I wanted to SEE and TOUCH them. I was searching for something in black or black/white in a large drum shape.  Here were some of the initial contenders:

Black & White Shades

LampsPlus

There finally came a time when I could stand bare bases no longer and spent $16 a piece on plain, black shades from Target.  When I got them home, unwrapped and added to the bases I just didn’t like them at all.  Too plain, just black and white, and the fabric was somewhat cheap with a bit of a swirl embedded.  Didn’t even unwrap the second one, they went back to Target.  Woe is me! I give up, why can’t I find exactly what I want without spending an arm and a leg!

 

Voila!

Do you love it?  I love it! I got it at Ross! I was wandering around one night, looking for decorations for my best pal’s baby shower and this shade popped right off the shelf and hit my square in the head.  Not really, but that’s how it felt. My heart went pitter-patter as I picked it up, and turned in over to find the price…$12.99! And this baby is at least 16″ tall. But wait…is there another?!? At the very, very bottom of the back pile of shades was the beautiful match made in heaven.  Yes, I’ll admit that I did still hesitate on the way to the register, thinking should I really spend $26 on a pair of lampshades? They are just too perfect to send back, and in my office they will stay.  Though, a small change had to be made regarding the bases, and I needed to rearrange the whole office..but that will have to be another post all together.  Let’s just enjoy these beauties shall we?

Felted Filigree

 

Perfect Pair of Shades

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

